ECU Libraries Catalog

Les Huguenots / music by Giacomo Meyerbeer ; libretto by Augustin Eugène Scribe ; director, Lotfi Mansouri ; produced and directed [for video] by Virginia Lumsden ; the Australian Opera presents ; in association with RM Associates and British Satellite Broadcasting.

Format Video (DVD)
Publication InfoWest Long Branch, NJ : Kultur, [between 2000 and 2009?]
Description1 videodisc (200 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 chapter guide ([2] pages : color illustrations ; 19 cm)
Included WorkMeyerbeer, Giacomo, 1791-1864. Huguenots.
Included WorkScribe, Eugène, 1791-1861 librettist.
Included WorkMansouri, Lotfi.
Included WorkLumsden, Virginia.
Included WorkSutherland, Joan, 1926-2010 performer.
Included WorkThane, Amanda, 1960- performer.
Included WorkJohnston, Suzanne (Soprano), performer.
Included WorkAustin, Anson, performer.
Included WorkPringle, John, performer.
Included WorkGrant, Clifford, performer.
Included WorkWegner, John, performer.
Included WorkBonynge, Richard conductor.
Other author/creatorAustralian Opera, performer.
Other author/creatorReiner Moritz Associates.
Other author/creatorBritish Satellite Broadcasting.
Other author/creatorKultur International Films.
Variant title At head of title: Joan Sutherland's gala farewell
Variant title End credits : Dame Joan Sutherland's gala farewell
Abstract Dame Joan Sutherland's farewell performance to the operatic stage, this production captures the horror and tragedy of the St. Bartholomew's Day massacre, as well as the splendor and romance of 16th century France.
General noteOpera in 5 acts.
CreditsChoreographer, Lois Strike ; set designer, John Stoddart ; costume designer, Michael Stennett ; lighting designer, Derek Coutts ; camera, Michael Turski ... [et al.] ; associate producer, Tricia Canavan ; executive producer, Peter Butler.
Performer Joan Sutherland (Marguerite de Valois) ; Amanda Thane (Valentine) ; Suzanne Johnston (Urbain) ; Anson Austin (Raoul de Nangis) ; John Pringle (Count de Nevers) ; Clifford Grant (Marcel) ; John Wegner (Count de Saint Bris) ; David Collins-White, Kerry Henderson, Neil Kirkby, Lindsay Gaffney, David Lemke, Kirsti Harms, Joanna Cole, Kerry Elizabeth Brown, Genevieve Killalea, Sergei Baigildin, Marjory McKay, Jennifer Bermingham, Neville Wilkie, David Hibbard, Stephen Bennett, Greg Scott, supporting soloists ; Australian Opera Chorus ; Australian Opera & Ballet Orchestra ; The Australian Opera Dance Ensemble ; Richard Bonynge, conductor.
Date/time/place of a event noteOriginally produced in 1990 at the Sydney Opera House.
Technical detailsDVD video; Dolby digital.
LanguageSung in French, with English subtitles.
UPC 032031002999
Publisher numberD0029 Kultur

Available Items

Availability data is currently unavailable.