ECU Libraries Catalog

Five pieces for cello and piano / Amy Marcy Cheney Beach ; Amy Camus, editor ; Adrienne Fried Block, introduction.

Author/creator Beach, Amy, 1867-1944
Format Musical Score and Print
Publication InfoBryn Mawr, Pa. : Hildegard Pub. Co., ©1995.
Description1 score (20 pages) + 1 part (10 pages) ; 28 cm
Other author/creatorCamus, Amy editor.
Other author/creatorBlock, Adrienne Fried writer of accompanying material.
Included WorkBeach, H. H. A., 1867-1944. Compositions, violin, piano, op. 40; arranged.
Included WorkBeach, H. H. A., 1867-1944. Sketches. Dreaming; arranged.
Included WorkBeach, H. H. A., 1867-1944. Pastorales, cello, organ.
Uniform titleInstrumental music. Selections; arranged
Variant title 5 pieces for cello and piano
Portion of title Pieces for cello and piano
Contents La captive -- Berceuse -- Mazurka -- Dreaming -- Pastorale.
General noteNone of the works are originally for violoncello and piano. Arrangements/variant versions are supposedly by the composer, although only those of La captive, Berceuse, and Mazurka are definitively by Beach.
General noteThe 1st-3rd works were originally published as Compositions, op. 40, for violin and piano. The 4th work is an excerpt from Sketches for piano, op. 15. The 5th work for violoncello and organ is, according to the introd., an earlier, shorter version of the Pastorale for wind quintet, op. 151, although the ms. source in the Fuller Library (Hillsboro, N.H.) is not in the composer's hand; the organ part is considered playable on piano in this ed.
LCCN 97707072
Publisher number09507 Hildegard

Available Items

Library Location Call Number Status Item Actions
Music Music Stacks M235.B42 C35 1995 ✔ Available Place Hold