ECU Libraries Catalog

Black man in a white coat : a doctor's reflections on race and medicine / Damon Tweedy, M.D.

Author/creator Tweedy, Damon
Format Book and Print
Publication Info New York : Picador, 2015.
Description294 pages ; 25 cm
Supplemental Content Cover image
Subject(s)
Contents Disparities -- Barriers -- Perseverance.
Contents Introduction -- Disparities : People like us ; Baby mamas ; Charity care ; Inner-city blues -- Barriers : Confronting hate ; When doctors discriminate ; The color of HIV/AIDS -- Perseverance : Matching ; Doing the right thing ; Beyond race.
Abstract "One doctor's passionate and profound memoir of his experience grappling with race, bias, and the unique health problems of black AmericansWhen Damon Tweedy begins medical school, he envisions a bright future where his segregated, working-class background will become largely irrelevant. Instead, he finds that he has joined a new world where race is front and center. The recipient of a scholarship designed to increase black student enrollment, Tweedy soon meets a professor who bluntly questions whether he belongs in medical school, a moment that crystallizes the challenges he will face throughout his career. Making matters worse, in lecture after lecture the common refrain for numerous diseases resounds, "More common in blacks than whites." Black Man in a White Coat examines the complex ways in which both black doctors and patients must navigate the difficult and often contradictory terrain of race and medicine. As Tweedy transforms from student to practicing physician, he discovers how often race influences his encounters with patients. Through their stories, he illustrates the complex social, cultural, and economic factors at the root of most health problems in the black community. These issues take on greater meaning when Tweedy is himself diagnosed with a chronic disease far more common among black people. In this powerful, moving, and deeply empathic book, Tweedy explores the challenges confronting black doctors, and the disproportionate health burdens faced by black patients, ultimately seeking a way forward to better treatment and more compassionate care"-- Provided by publisher.
Abstract "When Damon Tweedy first enters the halls of Duke University Medical School on a full scholarship, he envisions a bright future where his segregated, working class background will become largely irrelevant. Instead, he finds that he has joined a new world where race is front and center. When one of his first professors mistakes him for a maintenance worker, it is a moment that crystallizes the challenges he will face throughout his early career. Making matters worse, in lecture after lecture the common refrain for numerous diseases resounds, "More common in blacks than whites." In riveting, honest prose, Black Man in a White Coat examines the complex ways in which both black doctors and patients must navigate the difficult and often contradictory terrain of race and medicine. As Tweedy transforms from student to practicing physician, he discovers how often race influences his encounters with patients. Through their stories, he illustrates the complex social, cultural, and economic factors at the root of most health problems in the black community. These elements take on greater meaning when Tweedy finds himself diagnosed with a chronic disease far more common among black people. In this powerful, moving, and compassionate book, Tweedy deftly explores the challenges confronting black doctors, and the disproportionate health burdens faced by black patients, ultimately seeking a way forward to better treatment and more compassionate care.- For readers of Atul Gawande, Sandeep Jauhar, Pauline W. Chen, and Henrietta Lacks"-- Provided by publisher.
Bibliography noteIncludes bibliographical references (pages 289-291).
Genre/formAutobiographies.
Genre/formBiography.
Genre/formAutobiographies.
LCCN 2015018599
ISBN9781250044631 (hardback)
ISBN1250044634 (hardback)
ISBN(e-book)

Available Items

Library Location Call Number Status Item Actions
Joyner NC Stacks R154.T84 A3 2015 ✔ Available Place Hold
Laupus Popular Reading Collection WZ 100 T971B 2015 ✔ Available Place Hold

Related Titles