ECU Libraries Catalog

Southern women novelists and the Civil War : trauma and collective memory in the American literary tradition since 1861 / Sharon Talley.

Author/creator Talley, Sharon, 1952-
Format Electronic and Book
EditionFirst edition.
Publication InfoKnoxville : The University of Tennessee Press, [2014]
Descriptionxxii, 432 pages ; 24 cm
Supplemental Content Full text available from Ebook Central - Academic Complete
Contents Novels from the Civil War period (1861-1865). Augusta Jane Evans's Macaria; or, altars of sacrifice -- Sallie Rochester Ford's Raids and romance of Morgan and his men -- Novels from Reconstruction (1865-1877). Marion Harland's Sunnybank -- Mary Ann Cruse's Cameron Hall: a story of the Civil War -- Rebecca Harding Davis's Waiting for the verdict -- Novels from the "redeemed" South and the turn of the century (1877-1914). Mary Noailles Murfree's Where the battle was fought and the storm centre -- Ellen Glasgow's The battle-ground -- Mary Johnson's The long roll and Cease firing -- Novels from the modern period (1914-1945). Evelyn Scott's The wave -- Margaret Mtchell's Gone with the wind -- Caroline Gordon's None shall look back -- Novels since World War II (1945-present). Margaret Walker's Jubilee -- Kaye Gibbons' On the occasion of my last afternoon -- Josephine Humphreys's Nowhere else on earth -- Alice Randall's The wind done gone.
Bibliography noteIncludes bibliographical references (pages 377-409) and index.
Access restrictionAvailable only to authorized users.
Technical detailsMode of access: World Wide Web
Genre/formElectronic books.
LCCN 2013039695
ISBN9781621900139 (hardcover)

Available Items

Library Location Call Number Status Item Actions
Electronic Resources Access Content Online ✔ Available