ECU Libraries Catalog

Arabella / by Richard Strauss ; libretto, Hugo von Hofmannsthal ; staged by Götz Friedrich ; director for DVD, Felix Breisach ; a production of the Opernhaus Zürich and Clasart in association with Nippon Hoso Kyokai.

Format Video (DVD)
Publication InfoLondon, England : Decca ; New York : Distributed by Universal Music and Video Distribution, ©2008.
Description1 videodisc (147 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
Other author/creatorHofmannsthal, Hugo von, 1874-1929 librettist.
Other author/creatorFriedrich, Götz director.
Other author/creatorBreisach, Felix, director.
Other author/creatorFleming, Renée performer.
Other author/creatorKleiter, Julia, performer.
Other author/creatorKallisch, Cornelia, performer.
Other author/creatorWeigel, Johan, performer.
Other author/creatorLarsen, Morten Frank, performer.
Other author/creatorMuff, Alfred, performer.
Other author/creatorWelser-Möst, Franz, conductor.
Other author/creatorPilz, Gottfried, 1944- set designer.
Other author/creatorGlathar, Isabel Ines, set designer.
Other author/creatorHoffmann, Jürgen, production personnel.
Included WorkStrauss, Richard, 1864-1949. Arabella.
Other author/creatorOpernhaus Zürich, performer.
Other author/creatorClasart Films.
Other author/creatorNihon Hōsō Kyōkai.
Other author/creatorDecca Record Company.
Other author/creatorUniversal Music Distribution.
Abstract Renée Fleming stars in Götz Friedrich's enchanting Zürich staging of Strauss's Viennese opera. Arabella, against the wishes of her impoverished aristocratic parents, is determined to marry for love, not wealth. She gives her heart to the mysterious Mandryka, but a series of misunderstandings puts their love to the test.
General noteOpera in 3 acts.
General noteProgram notes and synopsis in English (14 p.) in container.
CreditsSet and costume design, Gottfried Pilz, Isabel Ines Glathar ; lighting design, Jürgen Hoffmann ; camera, Rebecca De Silva ... [et al.] ; editors, Clemens Böhm, Roland Buzzi.
Performer Renée Fleming (Arabella) ; Julia Kleiter (Zdenka) ; Cornelia Kallisch (Adelaide) ; Johan Weigel (Matteo) ; Morten Frank Larsen (Mandryka) ; Alfred Muff (Graf Waldner) ; supporting soloists ; Chorus & Orchestra of the Opernhaus Zürich ; Franz Welser-Möst, conductor.
Date/time/place of a event noteFilmed at the Zürich Opera House, June 2007.
Technical detailsDVD; soundtracks in DTS 5.0, PCM stereo; aspect ratio 16:9.
LanguageSung in German; optional subtitles in Chinese, English, French, German or Spanish.
UPC 044007432631
Publisher numberB0011380-09 Decca

Available Items

Library Location Call Number Status Item Actions
Music Music Media - Ask at Circulation Desk DVD-1312 ✔ Available Place Hold