ECU Libraries Catalog

Faust : Oper in drei Akten / text nach Goethe von Jules Barbier und Michel Carré ; musik von Charles Gounod ; inszenierung und bildregie, Ken Russell ; eine produktion des ORF ; aus der Wiener Staatsoper.

Format Video (DVD)
Publication InfoHamburg : Deutsche Grammophon, [2006]
Description2 videodiscs (176 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
Other author/creatorBarbier, Jules, 1825-1901 librettist.
Other author/creatorCarré, Michel, 1819-1872 librettist.
Other author/creatorRussell, Ken, 1927-2011, director.
Other author/creatorAraiza, Francisco singer.
Other author/creatorRaimondi, Ruggero singer.
Other author/creatorGrönroos, Walton singer.
Other author/creatorSramek, Alfred, singer.
Other author/creatorBeňačková-Čápová, Gabriela singer.
Other author/creatorSima, Gabriele, 1955- singer.
Other author/creatorJahn, Gertrude singer.
Other author/creatorBinder, Erich (Violinist), conductor.
Other author/creatorToms, Carl, set designer, costume designer.
Other author/creatorBryan, Robert, lighting designer.
Other author/creatorPoulin, Alphonse, choreographer.
Other author/creatorZöhrer, Kurt, film editor.
Included WorkGounod, Charles, 1818-1893. Faust. French.
Other author/creatorKonzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor performer.
Other author/creatorWiener Staatsoper. Ballett, performer.
Other author/creatorBallettschule der Österreichischen Bundestheater performer.
Other author/creatorWiener Staatsoper. Orchester performer.
Other author/creatorÖsterreichischer Rundfunk.
Other author/creatorWiener Staatsoper.
Other author/creatorDeutsche Grammophon (Firm)
Series Wiener Staatsoper live
Wiener Staatsoper. Wiener Staatsoper live. ^A1127753
Abstract A performance of Gounod's tragic opera based on the German Faust legend in which the aging philosopher and chemist sells his soul to the Devil in exchange for youth.
General noteSynopsis, and an essay "Gretchen as nun" by Peter Blaha in English (16 p.) inserted in container.
General noteBonus features: trailers.
CreditsSet and costume design, Carl Toms ; lighting design, Robert Bryan ; choreography, Alphonse Poulin ; editor, Kurt Zöhrer.
Performer Francisco Araiza (Faust) ; Ruggero Raimondi (Mephistopheles) ; Walton Gronroos (Valentin) ; Alfred Sramek (Wagner) ; Gabriela Běnǎcková-Cap (Marguerite) ; Gabriele Sima (Siebel) ; Gertrude Jahn (Marthe) ; supporting singers ; Chor der Wiener Staatsoper ; Ballet der Wiener Staatsoper ; Eleven und Elevinnen der Ballettschule der Bundestheater ; Orchester der Wiener Staatsoper ; Erich Binder, conductor.
Date/time/place of a event noteRecorded at the Wiener Staatsoper, Mar. 23, 1985 as a production of ORF.
Technical detailsDVD; NTSC, Region 0 (worldwide); full screen (4:3) presentation; DTS 5.0, Dolby digital 5.0, PCM Stereo sound.
LanguageSung in French; with optional subtitles in French, English, German, Spanish or Chinese.
Genre/formFilmed operas.
Genre/formNonfiction films.
UPC 044007341087
Publisher numberB0005829-09 Deutsche Grammophon

Available Items

Library Location Call Number Status Item Actions
Music Music Media - Ask at Circulation Desk DVD-951 ✔ Available Place Hold