ECU Libraries Catalog

Elektra / Metropolitan Opera ; music by Richard Strauss ; libretto by Hugo von Hofmannsthal ; production, Herbert Graf ; producer, Clemente D'alessio ; TV director, Brian Large.

Format Video (DVD)
Publication InfoGermany : Deutsche Grammophon, 2006.
Description1 videodisc (158 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
Included WorkStrauss, Richard, 1864-1949. Elektra.
Included WorkGraf, Herbert, 1903 or 1904-1973, production personnel.
Included WorkD'Alessio, Clemente, producer.
Included WorkLarge, Brian, director.
Included WorkHofmannsthal, Hugo von, 1874-1929 Elektra.
Included WorkDunn, Mignon performer.
Included WorkNilsson, Birgit performer.
Included WorkRysanek, Leonie, performer.
Included WorkNagy, Robert, 1929-2008 performer.
Included WorkMcIntyre, Donald, 1934- performer.
Included WorkCheek, John, 1948- performer.
Included WorkWebber, Constance, performer.
Included WorkAnguish, Elizabeth, performer.
Included WorkAnthony, Charles, 1929-2012 performer.
Included WorkHarper, Talmage, performer.
Included WorkCoss, Elizabeth, performer.
Included WorkGodfrey Ben-David, Batyah performer.
Included WorkLove, Shirley performer.
Included WorkBybee, Ariel, performer.
Included WorkDi Franco, Loretta performer.
Included WorkSmith, Jean performer.
Included WorkLevine, James, 1943- conductor.
Other author/creatorMetropolitan Opera (New York, N.Y.). Orchestra.
Other author/creatorMetropolitan Opera (New York, N.Y.)
Other author/creatorDeutsche Grammophon (Firm)
Abstract A musical interpretation of Sophocles' tale of the violent revenge that Elektra exacts for the murder of her father by his wife and her lover.
General notePicture format 4:3, NTSC.
General noteBooklet with program notes in English (11 p. : ill.) inserted in container.
General noteSpecial features: curtain calls, interviews with Birgit Nilsson.
Performer Mignon Dunn (Klytämnestra), Birgit Nilsson (Elektra), Leonie Rysanek (Elektra), Robert Nagy (Aegisth), Donald McIntyre (Orest), John Cheek (der Pfleger des Orest), Constance Webber (die Vertraute), Elizabeth Anguish (die Schleppträgerin), Charles Anthony (ein junger Diener), Talmage Harper (ein alter Diener), Elizabeth Coss (die Aufseherin), Batyah Godfrey, Shirley Love, Ariel Bybee, Loretta di Franco, Alma Jean Smith (fünf Mägde), Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, James Levine, conductor.
Technical detailsDVD; Dolby digital 5.1, PCM stereo., DTS 5.1; region code 0 (worldwide).
Genre/formNonfiction films.
UPC 044007341117
Publisher numberB0007475-09 Deutsche Grammophon
Publisher number00440 073 4111 Deutsche Grammophon

Available Items

Availability data is currently unavailable.