ECU Libraries Catalog

Les Troyens / the Metropolitan Opera ; Hector Berlioz ; libretto by the composer, after Virgil ; producer, Clemente D'Alessio ; directed by Brian Large.

Format Video (DVD)
Publication Info[Germany] : Deutsch Grammophon, [2007], ©1984.
Description2 videodiscs (250 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
Other author/creatorTroyanos, Tatiana performer.
Other author/creatorNorman, Jessye performer.
Other author/creatorDomingo, Plácido, 1941- performer.
Other author/creatorMonk, Allan, performer.
Other author/creatorPlishka, Paul, 1941- performer.
Other author/creatorLevine, James, 1943- conductor.
Other author/creatorD'Alessio, Clemente, producer.
Other author/creatorLarge, Brian, director.
Other author/creatorVeredon, Gray, choreographer.
Other author/creatorWechsler, Gil, lighting designer.
Included WorkBerlioz, Hector, 1803-1869. Troyens.
Included WorkVirgil. Aeneis.
Other author/creatorMetropolitan Opera (New York, N.Y.) performer.
Other author/creatorMetropolitan Opera (New York, N.Y.). Chorus performer.
Other author/creatorMetropolitan Opera (New York, N.Y.). Ballet, performer.
Other author/creatorDeutsche Grammophon (Firm)
Abstract The first uncut performance of Berlioz's opera at the Met, this production tells the story of the capture of Troy by the Greeks, and of the love of Dido and Aeneas.
General noteOpera in 3 acts.
General noteProgram notes in English, German and French.
General noteBonus feature: Picture gallery ("Les Troyens" at the Met).
CreditsStaged by Fabrizio Melano ; sets, costumes and visual effects, Peter Wexler ; lighting design, Gil Wechsler ; choreography, Gray Veredon ; chorus master, David Stivender.
Performer Tatiana Troyanos (Dido, Queen of Carthage), Jessye Norman (Cassandra), Plácido Domingo (Aeneas), Allan Monk (Coroebus), Paul Plishka (Narbal) ; Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, Chorus, and Ballet ; James Levine, conductor.
Date/time/place of a event noteRecorded on October 8, 1983, at the Metropolitan Opera.
Technical detailsDVD; NTSC, all regions, PCM stereo., DTS 5.1, Dolby digital 5.1.
LanguageIn French with English, Chinese, German, and Spanish subtitles.
Genre/formNonfiction films.
UPC 044007343104
Publisher number00440 073 4310 Deutsch Grammophon

Available Items

Library Location Call Number Status Item Actions
Music Music Media - Ask at Circulation Desk DVD-1010 ✔ Available Place Hold