ECU Libraries Catalog

P.I. Tchaikovsky violin concerto, op. 35 : complete violin & piano score, critical Urtext violin part, analytical studies & exercises, including the Leopold Auer edition / Otakar Ševčík ; edited by Stephen Shipps ; [piano score transcribed by Dmitri Vorobiev ; Danae Witter, associate editor].

Author/creator Ševčík, O. (Otakar), 1852-1934
Format Musical Score and Print
Publication Info[Maryland Heights, Mo.] : Lauren Keiser Music Pub. ; [Milwaukee, Wis.] : Exclusively distributed by Hal Leonard, ©2011.
Description1 score (72 pages) + 1 score (48 pages) + 1 part (31 pages) ; 31 cm
Other author/creatorShipps, Stephen, editor.
Other author/creatorVorobiev, Dmitri arranger of music.
Other author/creatorWitter, Danae, editor.
Other author/creatorAuer, Leopold, 1845-1930 editor.
Included WorkTchaikovsky, Peter Ilich, 1840-1893. Concertos, violin, orchestra, op. 35, D major arranged.
Uniform titleStudie, op. 19
Variant title At head of title: Otakar Ševčík, op. 19.
Contents [1] Analytical studies & exercises, op. 19 / Otakar Ševčík -- [2] Violin concerto in D minor, op. 22 / P.I. Tchaikovsky (score + part).
General noteThe studies, by Ševčík, originally published in 1930.
General note"Ševčík's pioneering spirit took him in the new direction of writing repertoire-specific exercises. His method of teaching included the writing of short exercises called 'purpose exercises' that addressed a specific technical skill. Ševčík analyzed a concerto, or a virtuoso showpiece, and isolated the inherent technical problems in order to focus on one issue at a time."--P. [4] of cover.
General noteAnalytical studies & exercises and piano & violin score are reprints of earlier editions. Critical urtext violin part is a modern edition edited by Shipps.
General noteIncludes violin & piano score and violin part for the concerto, bound separately.
General noteIncludes editor's introduction in English. Ševčík's exercises include preface and instructions in German, English, French, Spanish, Czech, Polish, Italian, and Russian.
General noteIncludes labelled edits of Leopold Auer, Stephen Shipps, and Ottakar Ševčík.
Bibliography noteIncludes bibliographical references.
UPC 884088596101
Publisher numberS511013 Lauren Keiser Music Pub.
Publisher numberHL00042660 Hal Leonard

Available Items

Library Location Call Number Status Item Actions
Music Music Stacks MT276 .T43 OP. 35 2011 ✔ Available Place Hold
Music Music Stacks MT276 .T43 OP. 35 2011 SCORE ✔ Available Place Hold

Related Titles