ECU Libraries Catalog

New music, new allies : American experimental music in West Germany from the zero hour to reunification / Amy C. Beal.

Author/creator Beal, Amy C.
Format Book and Print
Publication InfoBerkeley : University of California Press, ©2006.
Descriptionxvi, 340 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
Supplemental Content Table of contents
Supplemental Content Contributor biographical information
Supplemental Content Publisher description
Series California studies in twentieth-century music ; 4
California studies in 20th-century music ; 4. ^A473908
Contents Introduction : West Germany and the American experimental tradition -- The American occupation and agents of reeducation (1945-1950) -- Debuts (1950-1954) -- Ambassadors for the American avant-garde (1955-1958) -- Musics of change : action after Cage (1959-1961) -- Changing of the guards (1962-1970) -- The pluralism paradigm (1970-1974) -- New allies and old heroes (1975-1990) -- Conclusion : from Darmstadt to Halberstadt.
Bibliography noteIncludes bibliographical references (p. 301-325) and index.
LCCN 2005023759
ISBN0520247558 (cloth : alk. paper)

Available Items

Library Location Call Number Status Item Actions
Music Music Stacks ML275.5 .B3 2006 ✔ Available Place Hold

Related Titles