ECU Libraries Catalog

Bruckner (Documentary) / EuroArts Music International GmbH.

Other author/creatorEuroArts Music International GmbH.
Other author/creatorFilms for the Humanities & Sciences (Firm)
Other author/creatorFilms Media Group.
Format Video (Streaming) and Electronic
Publication InfoNew York, N.Y. : Films Media Group, [2014], ©2008.
Description1 streaming video file (30 min.) : sound, color.
Supplemental Content Part of the Films on Demand collection
Series Discovering Masterpieces of Classical Music
Discovering masterpieces of classical music. Bruckner. UNAUTHORIZED
Contents Symphony No. 8 Rejection (2:35) -- "Symphony No. 8" Premier (1:38) -- Allegro Moderato Movement (2:43) -- Complex Composition (2:19) -- Bruckner's Biography (1:25) -- Musical Career (1:38) -- Scherzo Movement (2:45) -- Monumental Symphonies (1:57) -- Adagio Movement (2:35) -- Religious Aspects (1:45) -- Subservient Composer (1:30) -- Finale Movement (3:26) -- "Symphony No. 8" Legacy (2:05) -- Credits: Discovering Masterpieces of Classical Music: Bruckner (Documentary) (0:39)
Abstract Anton Bruckner's Symphony No. 8 in C minor is the last Symphony the composer completed. When Bruckner sent it to Hermann Levi in 1887, the conductor who had lead his 7th to great success, Levi did not understand this very different work and rejected it. Bruckner then set to work revising the symphony and completed a new version in 1890. Habakuk Traber explains this masterpiece by introducing Bruckner's personality and his unique style of composing. Pierre Boulez conducts the Vienna Philharmonic.
General noteEncoded with permission for digital streaming by Films Media Group on October 11, 2014.
General noteFilms on Demand is distributed by Films Media Group for Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
Access restrictionAccess requires authentication through Films on Demand.
Interest grade level 7 & up.
Technical detailsMode of access: Internet.
Technical detailsSystem requirements: FOD playback platform.
LanguageParts in German without subtitles.
Source of descriptionTitle from distributor's description (Films Media Group, November 1, 2014).
Issued in other formOriginally produced: EuroArts Music International GmbH, 2008.
Genre/formEducational films.
Genre/formInternet videos.
Publisher number59105s Films Media Group
Publisher number59106 Films Media Group

Available Items

Library Location Call Number Status Item Actions
Electronic Resources Access Content Online ✔ Available